AZ Dyslexia Legislation


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dyslexia Legislation


ADE: Dyslexia Legislation Guidance Video Series

Information and Updates

February 10, 2020

SB1491 – Dyslexia Screening; appropriation

Register your support of SB1491 today!
SB1491 – Dyslexia Screening; appropriation is schedule to be heard in Senate education committee tomorrow at 2:00 pm. This bill is a continuation of efforts that started last legislative session and include an appropriation to both schools and the Arizona Department of Education to implement screening and training requirements.
SB1491 Summary
The deadline for school districts and charter schools to ensure that at least one kindergarten through third grade teacher in each school has received training related to dyslexia and the deadline for the Department of Education to develop a dyslexia screening plan are each extended one year to July 1, 2022. The subject knowledge test for a standard teaching certificate in early childhood education and elementary education must include an examination on reading instruction.
Appropriates $800,000 from the general fund in FY2020-21 and each fiscal year after to the Department of Education to distribute to school districts and charter schools to provide student screening for indicators of dyslexia.
Appropriates $280,000 from the general fund in FY2020-21 and each fiscal year after to the Department of Education for specified purposes, including to add three FTE positions to implement dyslexia screening requirements.
If you are already in the Arizona legislature request to speak system log into your account and register your support of SB1491 and / or contact the Arizona Senators on the Education Committee.
Sylvia Allen – Chair sallen@azleg.gov or 602-926-5409
Paul Boyer – Vice Chair pboyer@azleg.gov or 602-926-4173 (Senator Boyer is the bill sponsor when you contact him thank him for sponsoring the bill)
Sonny Borrelli – sborrelli@azleg.gov or 602-926-5051
Kate Brophy-McGee – kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov or 602-926-4486
Rick Gray – rgray@azleg.gov or 602-926-5413
Tyler Pace – tpace@azleg.gov or 602-926-5760
Andrea Delessandro – adelessandro@azleg.gov or 602-926-5342
Sally Ann Gonzales – sgonzales@azleg.gov or 602-926-3278
Martin Quezada – mquesada@azleg.gov or 602-926-5911

Share this page with your friends…
Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail